I Started My Coding Career During COVID-19 Lock Down

I'm a professional photographer and have my own business in Las Vegas, NV. When COVID-19 lock down came upon us I decided to spend my time learning some new skills. I actually started learning HTML, CSS and JavaScript prior to COVID-19 but didn't spend much time on it because of my business. Now that no one is hiring me for photography jobs I decided to dedicate this time to mastering JavaScript.

I already knew the basics of JavaScript language and syntax so I started digging a little deeper and found some talks by Douglas Crockford and now I really want to master the ins and outs of JavaScript. I learn about The Good Parts of JavaScript from Douglas Crockford and I love this quote of his.

Deep down, JavaScript has more in common with Lisp and Scheme than with Java. It is Lisp in C’s clothing. This makes JavaScript a remarkably powerful language.

Unlike many people I really like Lisp and think it's one of the greatest programming languages ever invented and if you don't know Lisp I would suggest learning it. I really love the dynamic nature of LISP and how similar JavaScript is. I learned from one of the many videos that I've watched that Brendan Eich created JavaScript in 10 days and one of his biggest influences was LISP. I'm SOLD!

My goal is to master JavaScript (The Good Parts) during the COVID-19 Lock Down!